May 25

by shelbyisrad

BEFORE YOU START READING

Open this in another tab and listen…. its so good and really has been resounding with me lately. Plus it is written and sang by one of my favorite people in the world.

May 25, 2005 will always hold a dear place in my heart. That wednesday night six years ago I knelt on the floor of a double wide trailer packed with tons of other teenagers and for the first time in my life let go. I let go of the control I thought I had over my life and put it all into the hands of my savior. I cried my eyes out (I cry over everything) and asked for forgiveness.

I made this decision after watching my youth pastor (who i’d later begin calling dad) do an interpretation of the conversation between Jesus and the thieves on the cross. I remember the image and words piercing my heart and then the sudden longing to hear the words from Jesus ‘You will be with me in paradise.’

The journey of the past six years has been hard, scary, and challenging; but also beautiful, inspiring, and grace-filled.
There is not a doubt in my mind the only reason I am the person I am today in the place I am today is because God has hand-written the story of my life. He has carved out the path I have taken and is going ahead of me in the journey still to come.

This six years I have grown so much from the scared, bitter, broken 13/14 year old girl  I was. I have been told I am a miracle from those who know my past and I have to say I agree. Maybe not that I am a miracle, but God is creating a wonderful miracle out of my life. Though its been hard and I’ve often asked “why me” I know God is working it all out into a beautiful story I may never fully see on this earth.

I am blessed and loved and forgiven. I am learning those three things are all I need to make it through and I am so glad I have those things from a savior who gives and provides them so freely.

I cannot wait to see the path God brings me down in the future.

And if you ever have questions about God/faith I will gladly do my best to tell you what I know and can always point you to some people I know with great knowledge. But the fact is myself and those i can point to you are humans, broken sinful people who do not always get it right but with God’s grace we are doing the best we can.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 For God has made everything beautiful in its time. He has set eternity on the hearts of men;  yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.

