Two pieces of advice.

by shelbyisrad

20130408-210750.jpg

(Matthew Quick, Author of Silver Linings Playbook)

I’ve made a friend in one of my creative writing classes this semester. It started as casual chatting as we walked part of the way to our destinations after class together and I eventually invited him over for cupcakes. We talked about everything from religion to music.  And of course my “I don’t know what I want to do when I finish UNCW” worry  came up and he asked. “Well what do you want to do with your life?”
I told him that I what I REALLY want is to someday be able to be a stay at home mom and care for my kids, and that I always wanted to write too.

He responded “Well do it. Write.”
I think I kinda laughed it off in the moment, but those words have been floating around in my head since then.

Even more so when I saw Matthew Quick, author of Silver Linings Playbook speak about becoming a writer. And I was wide-eyed and dreamy listening to him talk and thought several times “Okay… maybe I can write” (but honestly, I still don’t really believe it.) Especially when he expressed “I need to do this or I’m going to lose the best part of myself.” He had reached a point in his life when he was doing everything else but writing, and he dropped it all let go of that “ideal life” and chased his passion. It scares me that I could get so caught up in living the life everyone else thinks I’m supposed to live that I’d lose the best parts of me.

Then today I was talking to the friend again about graduating in december, and how I was getting nervous because I really had no idea what I was going to do next. He once again gave an answer that felt so right, and made so much sense (but still scares me)

“Just go out there and live life, just do sh*t”

Those are two pieces of advice I am holding on to. “Write” and “Just go out there and live life”  and knowing if I don’t do those things I could lose the best part of myself.

