Let’s Be Writers

20131001-122834.jpg
Image by Mandy Steward

If you click on the link of my navigation bar that says ‘the ones I adore’ you’ll find a list of women who encourage me and inspire me to dream big dreams. Most of that group is my tribe, the women I confess my deepest secrets, dreams and desires too. The ones I go to when I am angry, joyful, sad, or depressed. They are the ones who truly know me, they are the ones I am 110% myself around and they are the women I hope to be like in some way as I get older.

I am the youngest in our group, which at first was kinda daunting but now excites me. These women are braving the world ahead of me, they have already seen and experienced so much and they continue to create their own paths through the wilderness. I know they will allow me to venture down their trails, they will offer me wisdom and a hand to hold, but even better they will nudge me onto my own path. They will help me blaze my own way through the wild world and they will cheer me on, assist when the spider webs tangle my hair and the branches scratch my fair skin. But they won’t let me ever get knocked down for long because they will be whispering reminders to keep being brave.

Our tribe, we believe in chasing dreams, doing the seemingly impossible and doing it undaunted. We believe in speaking our truths, without apology. We believe “No” is a complete sentence. We believe in the holy, in magic, in secret messages and art. Oh do we believe in art. That is the purpose of this whole post, its to introduce you to three of these warrioress’ new books.

Three of my lovely sisters from this have become published authors recently and I wanted to share with you their incredible work:

“Every Shattered Thing” by Elora Ramirez

Stephanie fights reality every day. The voices inside, the ones declaring her worth, deem her broken, used and dirty. She is an object. A toy. Something to be tossed aside when bored. Who will believe her if she whispers the truth about her wrecking ball of a family? Eventually, her secret explodes and the person who means the most to her knows just how shattered she is and why she’s so afraid. But rescue is closer than she realizes. Hidden in plain sight, her horror hasn’t been ignored by everyone. Racing against the truth of what she faces, forces are joining together and developing a plan to free her from the hell in her own backyard. And while she’s at her lowest point, she’s hit with the beauty of love at any cost – redemption in the face of ruin. Will it be enough? *Warning: Contains mature content that may not be suitable for younger audiences*

“Saving Katie Baker” by H. Mattern

Katie Baker is a twenty-one-year-old single mother trying to live a quiet, introverted life, in her little Alabama cottage. With her happily-ever-after already come and gone, Katie has convinced everyone, even herself, that this is the story she wants to be living. But one night, a series of tornados threaten the life of Katie and her daughter, sending them into the arms of Blake Quinn, the biker dude next door. From her very first encounter with Blake, Katie is determined not to like him. She blames him for the death of her husband and decides to keep her guard up while waiting to be rescued from the unpleasant predicament of needing his assistance. Though Katie attempts to remain distant from Blake, his persistent kindness starts to wear on her heart. Only by leaping fearlessly, and facing the nightmares from her past, can Katie find the peace and happiness she realizes, she still craves.

“Thrashing About with God” by Mandy Steward

What if Jesus didn’t die so our lives could look perfect? What if He died so we could stop feeling like our lives have to be perfect to mean something? What if we simply live out our own story, even if it doesn’t look as others say it should? Mandy Steward set out in pursuit of these what-ifs. She didn’t find answers so much as she discovered a messy grace that knows no limits and a God that was and is willing to thrash about with her no matter her questions or struggles or doubts. What she found was abundant life, but it didn’t look like she thought it was going to. It was far different, and much deeper. This is a book without “easy” answers that lets those struggling with faith and searching for more know they are not alone.

I cannot recommend their books enough and would really love if you supported these artist author friends of mine as they chase their dreams.